Who will become the new chief of CBI?

May 28 2023

The tenure of the current CBI director Subodh Kumar Jaiswal is ending in this month i.e. May. If sources are to be believed, the central government has also made up its mind that Jaiswal will not be given further extension, so the search for his successor continues vigorously. At present, three names are believed to be leading the race, the first of which is the current Delhi Police Commissioner Sanjay Arora, who is an IPS officer of the Tamil Nadu cadre and feels that he is like an outsider in the Delhi Police. He is, allegedly, being treated as such, so he has expressed his desire to leave. Another name doing the rounds is that of Madhya Pradesh DGP Sudhir Saxena and observers are calling his claim the strongest till now. The third name of NIA chief Dinkar Gupta is in news, but it is believed that ‘RAW’ chief Samant Goyal wants to take him to his agency. In recent times, many IPS officers from Maharashtra have also got promotions, one of them is Atulchandra Kulkarni who is currently on deputation to ‘RAW’. His name is also mentioned in the race as the next chief of CBI. Another theory is going on that ‘this time the chance to become the Chief of CBI will be given to the same officer whose slate is clean and who has never worked in CBI before’. Therefore Sanjay Arora’s claim seems to be the strongest, but one source claims that the government has in a way finalized the name of Sudhir Saxena provided he gets the go-ahead from the selection committee.

GossipGuru App