Who will be in charge of ED?

May 28 2023

The Supreme Court expressed displeasure towards the government after the central government gave the third extension to ED director Sanjay Mishra. The court has also raised many questions about this decision of the central government. Since then the search for a new director of the Enforcement Directorate has started. Only IAS, IPS and IRS officers take up the responsibility of ED chief. If sources are to be believed, at present two people are leading in the race for ED Chief. One of them is 1989 batch IPS officer Sanjay Beniwal, DGP of Tihar Jail and the other name in the race is 1987 batch IRS officer Praveen Kumar, presently posted as Principal DG of Income Tax in Ahmedabad. The third service extension of the present ED chief Sanjay Mishra is ending in November this year. He was first appointed as ED Director in November 2018 for 2 years, then he was given one year extension from 2020. After this, in November 2021, the Central Government brought an ordinance by changing the ‘Central Vigilance Commissioner Act’ so that another extension of tenure could be given to Sanjay Mishra. Notably, Sanjay Mishra is a 1984 batch revenue service officer. He is also in charge of the ongoing ED investigation on 95 percent of the opposition leaders. This list of opposition leaders is very long which includes big names like Sonia, Rahul, Priyanka, Robert Vadra, DK Shivkumar, Hemant Soren, Farooq, Umar and Mehbooba Mufti, Anil Deshmukh.

GossipGuru App